Excellence in Design Awards

The AIA Monterey Bay Design Awards Program is conducted every two years. The next program is in 2025.
Design Awards submissions are open to members and affiliate members of the Monterey Bay Chapter of the AIA.

Entries represent a broad spectrum of building types and locales from the Central California Coast
region to abroad. Entries are judged on their own merits regardless of the scale or cost of the project.
Awards are given following the AIA National guidelines.

Awards in any submission category may be given for the following:

Citation Award

Given to projects with noteworthy design features such as site placement, use of materials and detailing, integration of technology, economy of construction.

Honor Award

Projects with thoroughly executed design, worthy of notice and emulation by other architects.

Merit Award

Projects of distinction demonstrating a high level of consistent design execution throughout the project.

Special Categories

Each year the committee selects a few special categories for project submission.  These can be anything from Sustainable Solutions to Unbuilt Projects to incredible design Details.