Excellence in Design Awards 2015


The Monterey Bay Chapter of the American Institute of Architects Biennial Awards Program for Design Excellence highlights architectural projects designed by members of the AIAMB. Recognition is given to projects which demonstrate exemplary skill and sensitivity in resolution of formal functional and technical requirements, regardless of the size/scale of the project.

Honor Award Recipients

Studio Schicketanz, Inc.

Tehama Residence
Carmel Valley, CA

Merit Award Recipients

Dennis Hodgin AIA Architects

Casa Mirador
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico

HGHB Architects and Planners

Student Center Modernization at MPC
Monterey, CA

Paul Davis Partnership, LLP

Haciendas Place
Salinas, CA

Studio Schicketanz, Inc.

The Press Club at the Monterey County Weekly
Monterey, CA

Citation Recipients

Dan Curran, AIA

Citation Award (unbuilt)
Haynes Residence
Pacific Grove, CA

Kasavan Architects

Citation Award (detail)
Trombe Wall Detail at Green Tech Center Cabrillo College
Watsonville, CA

Merritt Palminteri / MAP Architect

Citation Award (unbuilt)
Marine Ranger Stations
Various Coral Triangle Regions, South China Sea

Studio Carver Architects

Citation Award
City of Carmel Beach Restrooms
Carmel-by-the-Sea, CA

Your 2015 Jurors

Jonathan Reich
San Luis Obispo, CA

Martha Tonkin
Carmel, CA

Christopher Wasney
Palo Alto, CA