Excellence in Design Awards 2009


The Monterey Bay Chapter of the American Institute of Architects Biennial Awards Program for Design Excellence highlights architectural projects designed by members of the AIAMB. Recognition is given to projects which demonstrate exemplary skill and sensitivity in resolution of formal functional and technical requirements, regardless of the size/scale of the project.

Honor Award

Mitchell Residence, Monterey, CA

Flesher + Foster Architects
William Foster Designer

Preston Way Residence, Venice, CA

Osborne Architects

Merit Award Recipients

Lehrberg Residence, Carmel Highlands, CA

Daniel R. Curran

Daniels Residence, Los Altos, CA

Dennis F. Diego, AIA

Citation Recipients

Science Art Inc. / Residence, Monterey, CA

Jerrold E. Lomax, FAIA, and
Senior Associate Karen Lesney, Associate AIA

Sustainable Design Award

Preston Way Residence, Venice, CA

Osborne Architects

Your 2009 Jurors

Michael Folonis, FAIA
Principal, Michael W. Folonis Architects, Los Angeles, CA


Peter W. Pfau, AIA LEED AP
Principal, Pfau Long Architecture, San Francisco, CA


Paul Kephart
Executive Director, Rana Creek, Carmel Valley, CA