The purpose of the Stanton Award is to recognize a significant contribution to the profession of Architecture on the Central Coast of California.  The award recognizes architects and other professional or individuals who have contributed to the profession of architecture, such as historic preservation, professional development and community involvement.  The award selection is made by a committee of architect-members of AIA Monterey Bay only when it is deemed warranted by the AIAMB committee.

The Robert Stanton Award Fund is a gift from Virginia Young Stanton to the Community Foundation of Monterey County through an endowment.  The income is to be used by AIA Monterey Bay in selecting, preparing and presenting the Robert Stanton Award to recognizing outstanding contributions of a chapter member.

AIA Monterey Bay Stanton Award Winners

  • 2016 Wm. David Martin, AIA
  • 2014 Peter J. Kassavan, AIA
  • 2012 Jerrold E. Lomax, FAIA
  • 2010 Michael L. Waxer, AIA
  • 2008 John Thodos, FAIA
    2006 Kent Seavey & Rick Janick
  • 2003 Dennis Hodgin, AIA
  • 2001 Daniel Fletcher, AIA
  • 1999 Jeanne C. Byrne, FAIA
  • 1995 Paul E. Davis, AIA
  • 1994 Virginia Stanton – Contributions created Stanton Award
  • 1992 Richard K. Rhodes
  • 1988 Joyce S. Stevens, AIA
  • 1985 Donald B. Goodhue, FAIA
  • 1984 Walter Burde, FAIA –   Fredrick G. Keeble, FAIA
  • 1983 Will V. Shaw, FAIA – Design William Concolino, FAIA